back to opinion

Opinion Archive

Page 5 of 26+        

Leading organisations as ecosystems (rather than elephants)

Sharon Olivier | 02 August 2019

The world isn't predictable, uniform or controllable. So trying to run organisations via planned, top-down programmes dictated by senior leaders is doomed to failure. Instead, we need to start viewing organisations as living eco systems, rather than some sort of machine.

We all need proper vacations

Peter Vajda | 30 July 2019

We've said it before and we'll say it again. Everyone needs a proper holiday. Taking real time out from work is a non-negotiable necessity if we're to to maintain a healthy mind, body and soul.

Encouraging innovation in large organizations

John Brooker | 15 July 2019

Many large organizations have problems with innovation. So unlocking their potential means understanding the key factors that influence innovation and how leadership behavior influences them.

Moving beyond endless debate

Rod Collins | 08 July 2019

Rather than finding workable solutions to our most intractable problems, we seem to be locked into endless cycles of debate that prevent meaningful action from ever happening.

The Icarus syndrome: flying too close to the sun

Manfred Kets De Vries | 04 July 2019

The Icarus syndrome, with its signature lack of humility, has felled many leaders who planned grandly but failed miserably. That’s why every leader needs to keep their hubris in check.

Are all white people privileged?

David Livermore | 01 July 2019

You can’t have an honest conversation about cultural intelligence without addressing 'white privilege', the idea that white people inherit certain privileges simply by the color of their skin. But this isn't an easy thing to discuss.

The art of creating positive intentions in the workplace

Sarah Gornall | 24 June 2019

Have you ever stopped to take stock of what you are focusing on? In all aspects of our work and life, our focus either holds us back or provides a springboard to success. So use it to create positive intentions for yourself rather than dwelling on the things you don’t want.

How to get your ideas adopted

Anne Miller | 17 June 2019

Nothing is more frustrating than a great idea falling on deaf ears. If this happens to you, don't get demoralized, get smart. To get your ideas adopted, you need a strategy.

What (not) to do in the crosshairs of digital disruption

Joerg Niessing | 11 June 2019

Just 15 years ago, Swiss company Kuoni was one of Europe's best-known travel brands. But its failure to embrace the wave of digital disruption engulfing the travel industry proved to be a disastrous and irreversible mistake.

How collective intelligence can prevent business meltdowns

Rod Collins | 03 June 2019

Anyone who has worked in a business for a long time will probably have a story about an actual or near catastrophic meltdown. But as my own experience shows, leverage collective intelligence is the best way of avoiding these disastrous situations.

How humor can help shape strategy

James M. Kerr | 31 May 2019

More and more companies globally are using humor as part of their brand strategies, and Stand-Up Strategist has just released its second annual ranking of the best corporate April Fools campaigns.

Revolution in B2B retail: from perfume to platform economy

David Dubois | 20 May 2019

In the digital age, where consumers and brands are connected like never before, B2B retailers need to embrace new business models and pivot into platforms.

All new ideas are made of old ideas

Max McKeown | 12 May 2019

In the same way nature has mixed and remixed matter to arrive at our current universe, mankind has mixed and remixed ideas to arrive at our current society. So if we want to make the future better, we need to look for new combinations of old ideas.

How firms can avoid the mediocrity trap

Manfred Kets De Vries | 06 May 2019

Managers who are emotionally insecure or who have a fragile self-esteem face a dilemma when making hiring decisions. That’s why B-players often fail to hire the best people.

Principles before personalities

James M. Kerr | 01 May 2019

During large-scale reorganizations, discussions can often become heated and turn personal. That's why it's important to keep in mind some techniques to ensure that your teams stay focused on the 'why' and the 'what' rather than getting bogged down with the 'who'.

Three scary things that real leaders need to do

Greg Giuliano | 23 April 2019

If you want to be a leader and not just a boss, you need to stop relying on your title or your position to get people to comply and start to strengthen your connections with others.

What's the answer? It depends

David Livermore | 18 April 2019

I’ve gained a reputation for being the “It depends” guy. When fielding questions during a presentation on cultural intelligence, my default response is “It depends!” Let me explain why.

The creativity success manifesto

Jurgen Wolff | 16 April 2019

Whether you want to write a best-seller or launch a new business venture, success in any kind of creative endeavour depends on some common factors. Understand these and your chances of hitting the jackpot will be multiplied.

The essential challenge in times of great change

Rod Collins | 03 April 2019

In times of great change, business leaders can’t look to the past for guidance. Instead, they need to proactively manage the evolution of their companies and be prepared to innovate when markets shift.

What happens to firms that don’t adopt dominant technologies?

Nathan Furr | 02 April 2019

Firms that choose the non-dominant technology in an industry shakeout aren’t necessarily dooming themselves to extinction. Remaining open to options is an important part of innovation and they can still pivot, adapt and survive.

Page 5 of 26+